If you are a permanent resident of the United States of America staying there on the basis of the green card (also known as the United States Permanent Resident Card) and planning a trip to Europe then your permanent residency has nothing to do with the visa.

The country of which you are an actual citizen will determine your ability to travel to Europe. You need to check whether the destination that you have planned to travel to out of the 47 countries of Europe require a visa from the citizens of the country that issued you your passport. Europe has been divided into different regions whose member states share the same entry requirement. To make it simpler for you to identify we have enlisted the regions/countries with their requirements.

Schengen Area

The western and the central Europe comprising of 25 countries are a part of the Schengen Area. U.K., Bulgaria, Romania and Ireland are not included in the 25 countries.

  • Schengen area countries do not require their visitors to have a visa if they are visiting up to 90 days.
  • The visitors that are allowed a visa free visit must have passports issued by Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Hong Kong, Israel, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Singapore, South Korea, Uruguay and Venezuela among others.
  • In case you still need a visa you can apply to the first country you enter or to the main country you visit.
  • If the visit is for more than 90 days you will need separate visas for all the countries you intend to visit.

United Kingdom

  • United Kingdom allows people with passports of many countries to travel for up to 6 months without the need of a visa.
  • These countries include the U.S., Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Mexico, most Caribbean states, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, Israel, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, Singapore, China and Hong Kong among others.
  • The requirements keep on changing thus it is necessary to check before your plan to travel.
  • Check here if you need a UK visa

There are 16 countries whose passport holders can visit Ireland with a U.K. visitor’s visa. These countries include:

  1. Russia
  2. Belarus
  3. Ukraine
  4. Bosnia
  5. Herzegovina
  6. China
  7. India
  8. Kazakhstan
  9. Uzbekistan and
  10. Saudi Arabia among others.

Other Countries in Europe

  • If you plan to travel to any other country in Europe except United Kingdom, Ireland and those included in the Schengen Area then you need to check their visa requirements individually.
  • Croatia, Serbia and Macedonia that are candidate countries to EU or Schengen Area have similar visa rules.
  • Russia allows visa free visits of varying lengths to citizens of Cuba, Turkey, Serbia, Thailand and some South American countries among others.
  • Visa, however, is required from people with passports of EU, Canada, U.S. and Mexico.

It is always a better option to check for the requirements before you travel rather than face problems later as regulations keep on changing on a regular basis.