Visa-free access up to 90 days

  1. Andorra
  2. Australia (Effective from January 1 2015 to June 30 2016)
  3. Austria
  4. Belgium
  5. Bulgaria
  6. Canada
  7. Chile (diplomatic official/service passports excluded)
  8. Croatia
  9. Cyprus
  10. Czech Republic
  11. Denmark
  12. Estonia
  13. Finland
  14. France
  15. Germany
  16. Greece
  17. Hungary
  18. Iceland
  19. Ireland
  20. Israel
  21. Italy
  22. Japan
  23. Republic of Korea
  24. Latvia
  25. Liechtenstein
  26. Lithuania
  27. Luxembourg
  28. Malta
  29. Monaco
  30. the Netherlands
  31. New Zealand
  32. Norway
  33. Poland
  34. Portugal
  35. Romania
  36. San Marino
  37. Slovakia
  38. Slovenia
  39. Spain
  40. Sweden
  41. Switzerland
  42. U.K.
  43. U.S.A.
  44. Vatican City State

Visa-free access up to 30 days

  • Malaysia
  • Singapore


  1. Passport with validity of at least six months upon entry
    visa-exempt entry only applies to foreign visitors holding formal passports (i.e. ordinary, official/service and diplomatic passports), not including those holding emergency, temporary, other informal passports or travel documents.
    * Japanese passport holders with their passports valid for more than 3 months are eligible for visa-exempt entry.
    * US passport (including emergency passport) holders with their passports valid for the period of intended stay are eligible for visa-exempt entry.
  2. A confirmed return air/sea ticket or an air/sea ticket and a visa for the next destination, and a confirmed seat reservation for departure.
  3. Must not be determined by border officers at ports of entry in the Republic of China to be otherwise inadmissible.

Duration of Stay

1. The duration of stay starts from the next day of arrival and is not extendable. Foreign visitors must depart by the end of the said duration.

2. Visa-exempt entry cannot be converted to other types of visas, unless the following exceptions:.

A. Foreign visitors entering the R.O.C. through visa-exemption may only apply for converting to visitor visas within their legal stay at the Bureau of Consular Affairs or branch offices of MOFA in case of: severe acute diseases, natural disasters or other force majeure reasons, which hold them back from leaving the R.O.C. In addition, white-collar professionals who have obtained the work permits within their legal stay may apply for work visas, together with their spouse and minors (under age 20) entering the R.O.C. at the same time.

B. For U.K. and Canadian passport holders, please refer to “Notice for British & Canadian Passport Holders Who Enter Taiwan Visa-Free and Apply for an Extension of Stay”.(doc檔案)

Ports of Entry

  • Taiwan Taoyuan International Airport
  • Taipei Songshan Airport
  • Taichung Airport
  • Chiayi Airport
  • Tainan Airport
  • Kaohsiung International Airport
  • Taitung Airport
  • Hualien Airport
  • Kinmen Airport
  • Magong Airport
  • Keelung Harbor
  • Taipei Harbor
  • Taichung Harbor
  • Kaohsiung Harbor
  • HualienHarbor
  • Shuitou Harbor
  • Fuao Harbor